2024 IEEE William E. Newell Power Electronics Field Award

David J. Perreault

Award Citation: For contributions to the development of very-high-frequency power converters

About David J. Perreault

David Perreault received his B.S. degree from Boston University and S.M. and Ph.D. degrees from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, all in Electrical Engineering. He is presently the Ford Professor of Engineering at MIT. His research interests include design, manufacturing, and control techniques for power electronic systems and components, and in their use in a wide range of applications. Dr. Perreault is a Member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering, a Fellow of the IEEE and the recipient of many awards including the IEEE R. David Middlebrook Achievement Award for his work in power electronics. He is co-author of sixteen IEEE prize papers in the area, and of the textbook “Principles of Power Electronics, 2nd Edition” (Cambridge University Press, 2023). Dr. Perreault also co-founded startup companies Eta Devices (acquired by Nokia in 2016) and Eta Wireless (acquired by Murata in 2021).

About the William E. Newell Power Electronics Award

The IEEE William E. Newell Power Electronics Award was established in 2005. It was established in memory of William E. Newell of the Westinghouse Research and Development Center in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. This award is presented to an individual for outstanding contributions to power electronics. Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.
The William E. Newell award is sponsored by the IEEE Power Electronics Society (PELS)